Comfort

BLOG:

This week I was looking around for a post I saw from Donald Miller’s (the author of Blue Like Jazz) blog a long time ago and rather than the one I was looking for I found this, which I like better. A lot of you guys have been daunted by the amount of work you have to do, so read this:

http://storylineblog.com/2013/02/19/how-i-learned-not-to-be-overwhelmed/

SCRIPTURE:

Psalm 23 is what I read today

Matthew 14: 22-33

Matthew 6: 25 – 34 is in my opinion just… hilarious. I don’t know why but it makes me laugh.

READING:

“We have to acknowledge that our hunger for God comes from Him and will not be completely satisfied on earth. The deepest pleasures of life don’t satisfy- they point us forward” – Finding God by Dr. Larry Crabb

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I don’t think I’m alone when I say that at least once a day there is a point where I experience anxiety. It could be about anything from boys to school to jobs and money, but there always seems to be something that just isn’t okay. And in my mind I fool myself into thinking that  if I had this or that or did this one thing that I would reach a point where nothing was wrong anymore. So I work extra hard to get there and find that thing my soul has been missing that will end my anxiety and bring me the peace I’ve waited my whole life for. But what I am realizing is not only that these worldly things will not satisfy me but that no amount of human effort is enough to earn peace. We must humble ourselves enough to admit that we can’t solve our own problems. So when you feel the worries we all experience taking over, just take a moment, take a breath and ask God to take the anxiety away, and to replace it with His peace. We can fool ourselves into thinking worries are just a part of life and that if it’s something I struggle with now, it always will be. But I want to ask you these questions to reflect on: do you think you serve a God so small that there is a stain He cannot clean? And do you think it is the character of your God to force you to walk the earth the rest of your days with a sin in your heart that you don’t want? And when God says “ask and it will be given to you”, do you think he is lying? So why do we not ask God to take this sin and pressure and anxiety that steals our joy away? Think about that this week!

That’s it for now! I love you guys so much it’s actually insane. I want you to never grow up so we can always have Freshman Small Group forever!

-Amy

One thought on “Comfort

Leave a Reply

