Email from Monday

BLOG POSTS:

I. Love. This. One. It made me cry a little bit. Really short!

http://theresurgence.com/2012/04/16/the-gospel-makes-you-do-crazy-things

This article made some interesting points about how we chose who we date and eventually marry and how God wants us to chose them. I liked it!

http://theresurgence.com/2011/09/06/the-truth-about-marital-compatibility

SCRIPTURE:

Psalm 12 – the classics are the classics for a reason.

John 6 : 35-51

1 John 3: 1-3

READINGS:

“But when I was reading the text the way John Sailhamer said to read the text, I noticed Adam and Eve didn’t meet right away. Moses said God knew Adam was lonely or incomplete or however you want to say it, but God did not create Eve directly after he stated Adam was lonely … He did not give Adam what he needed immediately. He waited. He told Adam to name the animals.” – Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller

“After years of hearing the heart-cry of women, I am convinced beyond a doubt of this: God wants to be loved. He wants to be a priority to someone. How could we have missed this? From cover to cover, from beginning to end, the cry of God’s heart is, ‘Why won’t you choose me?’.” – Captivating by John and Stasi Eldredge

“Our very existence is one of the never-to-be-repeated ways God has chosen to express himself in space and time. Because we are made in God’s image and likeness, you and I are yet another promise that he has made to the universe that he will continue to love and care for it. Yet even if we grasp the fact that we are a word uttered by God, we may not grasp what he is trying to say through us. In Seeds of Contemplation, Merton writes ‘God utters me like a word containing a partial thought of himself. A word will never be able to comprehend the voice that utters it. But if I am true to the concept that God utters in me, if I am true to the thought in Him I was meant to embody, I shall be full of His actuality and find Him everywhere in my life and find myself nowhere. I shall be lost in Him.'” – Ruthless Trust by Brendan Manning

PRAYER:

“Dear Jesus, who am I really? What do you see in me that you would move heaven and earth to capture my heart? My life feels like a collection of other people’s expectations and disappointments. I do not even know anymore who I truly am. Reveal to me my true identity, my true place in your story. Give me grace to hear your voice; shut out all other voices, and let me hear from you alone. I ask this in your name. Amen.” The Sacred Romance Workbook by John Eldredge

Leave a Reply

