Another Old Email

BLOG POST:

 

So I chose one from Desiring God again… I may be an addict. But guys if you don’t read anything else, read this! IT IS SO GOOD and heartening and comforting and peaceful and wonderful:

http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/staying-faithful-when-things-get-worse

 

SCRIPTURE:

 

Psalm 103

Proverbs 14

Luke 19: 1-10

 

READINGS:

 

“Philosopher William James said ‘In some people religion exists as a dull habit, in others as an acute fever.’ Jesus did not endure the shame of the cross to hand on a dull habit. If you don’t have the fever, dear reader, a passion for God and His Christ, drop to your knees, and beg for it; turn to the God you half-believe in, and cry out for His baptism of fire.” – The Signature of Jesus by Brennan Manning

 

“In reality, however, the image of Christ is the fulfillment of the deepest hungers of the human heart for wholeness. The greatest thirst of our being is for fulfillment in Christ’s image. The most profound yearning of the human spirit, which we try to fill with all sorts of inadequate substitutes, is our yearning for completeness in the image of Christ” – Invitation to a Journey by M Robert Mulholland Jr.

 

PRAYER:

 

“My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so. But believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it. Therefore I will trust you always though I may seem lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.” -Thomas Merton

 

WONDER HOW I FIND THESE THINGS?:

 

If you guys ever feel stuck on quiet time or need a devotional or don’t know what to read and don’t feel like you’re getting enough out of the bible or any readings, just let me know! It has taken me a long time to find a quiet time that I enjoy and I know a lot about how to shape your bible reading around the way God made you! Remember, God didn’t mess up when he made you the way you are, you are a wonderful work created in HIS image. HOW AMAZING IS THAT?!

 

LASTLY, ON HEARING GOD’S VOICE:

 

A lot of you guys have been asking me questions about hearing God and praying and I was thinking that one week we can talk about talking to God and hearing him speak in your life but for now let me say this: In Genesis, it says that God created us in His image. Nothing else on earth is made that way. And we see the things in nature that do exactly what God made them to for. So if God can tell a seed to turn into a tree and a egg when to hatch and birds to fly south for the winter, why is it so hard to believe that we have the same answers inside of ourselves? You may not have it all together, but on your worst day, you are still more valuable to God than a seed. So why do we think that God would not tell us His will for us? Sometimes, we give up on hearing God. I know that all through my life, every time I would ask God a question or just ask to hear his voice I would hear nothing, and that made me feel like a failure and like I could never be a real Christian. I could never do God’s will because he was hiding it from me, which I thought was because I wasn’t holy enough to be spoken to by the God of the Universe. So I gave up trying. But here’s the secret I learned: If you want to hear God, you have to listen for Him. You have to take real time set aside from the rest of your day to sit and be silent and just ask God to speak to your heart. You may not hear a voice speaking in your head in some booming male voice (why do we all expect that?), you may just hear a soft voice, that if you weren’t looking for it may be mistaken for your own thoughts, but is in fact the voice of God, speaking to you. You may not hear anything at all, you may just feel something inside, some kind of peace, a push, a movement. You may just sit there for twenty minutes and not feel anything. Just keep trying! Keep praying – don’t give up! Keep asking God to speak to you, keep asking questions, keep seeking His will because that alone is pleasing enough to God.

Leave a Reply

